chloé motard
about

branding & appropriation

creation of the logo and packaging of the social truck for the AFEV Toulouse association. The truck is available to associations, universities and town halls in the Toulouse region to enable young people to present their projects in public places.

Élodie and Olivier contacted me very excited about this new project they were setting up with the AFEV in Toulouse. AFEV offers young people an experience in civic service based on civic engagement, in collaboration with local associations. The social truck is a project that brought together actors from the Occitanie region, the city of Toulouse and the universities of Mirail and Paul Sabatier.

When we met, the truck was already reserved but they wanted to transform it so that it would be easily recognizable and drive people towards it.

Its layout had to be both serious and "playful", and if young people are the main target, it should allow residents and many audiences to meet, depending on the projects that will be presented with this truck.

As with each of my projects, we first took the time to discuss the social truck as a whole, about how they envisioned it evolving and the people and institutions involved.

Given the diversity of the actors of this project, and the target audiences, we really took the time to collect images corresponding to the tone and atmosphere desired for the visual identity of this truck on Pinterest. Then I introduced them to three moodboards that each developed a different aspect of the social truck and its communication.

for this first moodboard I proposed a game between typography and icons. This was to link all the posters communicating an event around the social truck. Associations or institutions using the social truck can then choose from the icons provided those that most correspond to their event and play with them in the composition of their posters and flyers. It is a way to ease the appropriation of the truck while maintaining visual coherence. This lead will be retained!

for this second moodboard I proposed to start with the idea of a "liquid" logo, i.e. one that exists in a multiplicity of forms. Once a visual and typographical system was defined, the logo could evolve, and therefore be a little different for each of the events taking place around the social truck.

this third track proposed a much more minimalist approach that would allow the truck and events to be recognized but without being too "talkative" in order to give more visual space to the projects taking place around the social truck.

for this first moodboard I proposed a game between typography and icons. This was to link all the posters communicating an event around the social truck. Associations or institutions using the social truck can then choose from the icons provided those that most correspond to their event and play with them in the composition of their posters and flyers. It is a way to ease the appropriation of the truck while maintaining visual coherence. This lead will be retained!

for this second moodboard I proposed to start with the idea of a "liquid" logo, i.e. one that exists in a multiplicity of forms. Once a visual and typographical system was defined, the logo could evolve, and therefore be a little different for each of the events taking place around the social truck.

this third track proposed a much more minimalist approach that would allow the truck and events to be recognized but without being too "talkative" in order to give more visual space to the projects taking place around the social truck.

From the chosen moodboard (track 1) I proposed 3 logo designs in the chosen line. We chose a "chatty" logo that clearly communicates the actions of the social truck: a mobile space to meet and chat over a coffee. From this logo I was able to draw the 6 icons that would then be used for online communications and event printing, and then make the actual truck wrapping.

pictogrammes du social truck
pictogrammes du social truck

chloé motard
infos

un branding à s'approprier

création du logo et habillage du social truck pour l’association AFEV Toulouse. Le camion est mis à disposition des associations, universités et mairies de la région toulousaine pour permettre aux jeunes de présenter leurs projets sur les places publiques.

Élodie et Olivier m’ont contactée très emballés par ce nouveau projet qu'ils montaient avec l’AFEV de Toulouse. L’AFEV propose à des jeunes une expérience en service civique autour d'un engagement citoyen, en lien avec des associations locales. Le social truck est un projet qui a réuni des acteurs de la région Occitanie, de la ville de Toulouse et des universités du Mirail et de Paul Sabatier.

Quand nous nous sommes rencontrés le camion était déjà réservé mais ils voulaient le transformer pour qu’il soit facilement reconnaissable et qu’il donne envie aux gens de s’en approcher.

Son habillage se devait d'être à la fois sérieux et "playful", et si les jeunes sont la cible principale il doit permettre aux riverains et à de nombreux publics de se réunir, en fonction des projets qui seront présentés avec ce camion.

Comme pour chacun de mes projets, nous avons d'abord pris le temps de discuter du social truck dans son ensemble, de la façon dont ils le voyaient évoluer et des gens et institutions impliqués.

Étant donné la diversité des acteurs de ce projet, et des publics visés nous avons vraiment pris le temps de rassembler des images correspondant au ton et à l'ambiance souhaitée pour l'identité visuelle de ce camion sur Pinterest. Ensuite je leur ai présenté trois moodboards qui développaient chacun un aspect différent du social truck et de sa communication.

pour ce premier moodboard j'ai proposé un jeu entre la typographie et des icônes. Cela devait permettre de lier toutes les affiches communicant un évènement autour du social truck. Les associations ou institutions utilisant le social truck peuvent alors choisr parmi les icônes proposés ceux qui correspondent le plus à leur évènement et jouer avec dans la composition de leurs affiches et flyers. C'est un moyen de le rendre appropriable tout en gardant une cohérence visuelle. Cette piste sera retenue !

pour ce second moodboard je porposais de partir sur l'idée d'un logo "liquide", c'est à dire qui existe dans une multiplicité de formes. Une fois un système visuel et typographique défini le logo pouvait évoluer, et donc être un peu différent pour chacun des évènements prenant place autour du social truck.

cette troisième piste proposait une approche beaucoup plus minimaliste qui permettrait au camion et aux évènements d'être reconnus mais sans être trop "bavards" afin de laisser plus de place visuellement aux projets prenant place autour du social truck.

À partir du moodboard choisi (piste 1) je leur ai proposé 3 design de logos dans la ligné retenue. Nous avons choisi un logo “bavard” communiquant clairement les actions du social truck : un espace itinérant pour se rencontrer et discuter autour d’un café. À partir de ce logo j'ai pu dessiner les 6 icônes qui allaient ensuite être utilisés pour les communications en ligne et imprimées des évènements, puis faire l'habillage du camion à proprement parler.

pictogrammes du social truck
pictogrammes du social truck